The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery is proud to announce that we have matched with the following four medical students for our Residency Training Program.  We look forward to them starting the program June 24, 2013. 


Hassan Azimi

Cheng, Timothy

Ian Foran

Kevin Parvaresh

University of Colorado School of Medicine

David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Georgetown University School of Medicine

Should you have any questions, please contact Joy Dinius at

(619) 543-7247 or  Thank you!


R. Todd Allen, MD, PhD, was inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) on March 22, 2013, during ceremonies at the Academy’s 2013 Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL.
The Academy is the largest medical association for musculoskeletal specialists. Its Fellows have completed medical school, plus at least five years of specialty study in orthopaedics in an accredited residency program, passed a comprehensive oral and written exam, and have been certified by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery.

The University of California, San Diego’s Department of Orthopaedic Surgery is proud to announce that our very own Richard L. Lieber, PhD, has received the prestigious Kappa Delta/OREF Clinical Research Award.  In 1947, at its Golden Anniversary, Kappa Delta Sorority announced the establishment of the Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics, the first award ever created to honor achievements in the field of orthopaedic research. The first annual award was made available to the Academy in 1949 and presented at their annual meeting in 1950. The Kappa Delta Awards have been presented by the Academy at their annual meeting to persons who have performed research in orthopaedic surgery that is of high significance and impact.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Lieber.